top of page
Rainhill Cricket Club

About Us

Rainhill C.C.      is a friendly, inclusive community cricket club with thriving junior and women's sections. 

Founded in 1871, Rainhill Cricket Club is a friendly, inclusive community-focused club in Rainhill, in the borough of St Helens. For a century and a half Rainhill CC has been a focal point for community sporting development and has a long tradition of nurturing cricketers of all abilities to be the best they can be. 


​Our 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th teams play in the Liverpool and District Cricket Competition. We have a thriving junior section with teams from under-9s to under-18s, as well as women's and girls' teams. While our competitive teams are focused on excellence, the club also runs a recreational team for those who prefer to play friendly cricket and a Last Man Stands team that plays mid-week. As a club we want to give everyone the opportunity to enjoy the game of cricket, whether you're competitively minded or simply interested in social games.

We adopt an inclusive approach to cricket and everyone is genuinely welcome. In 2022 we became an ECB Disability Cricket Champion Club. People of all ages play for us - our youngest player is 6 and our oldest is over 80. We are keen to welcome everyone - of whatever age, ethnicity, gender, orientation or religion - who wants to play the game. We are proud of the diversity of our membership and the range of cricketing experiences we are able to provide.

Quality coaching is provided at all levels by qualified personnel. The club runs cricket camps for young people during the summer in addition to taking part in the ECB's All Stars Cricket and Dynamos initiatives. Rainhill CC has ECB Clubmark status and was reaccredited in 2022.

Like all cricket clubs, we depend on the support of volunteers and our local community, The club has developed strong partnerships with local schools, businesses, community organisations and other local sports clubs. Along with Rainhill Bowling Club and Rainhill United Junior Football Club we are members of the Rainhill Recreation Club.

Club Honours

1st XI:

Merseyside Cricket Association League winners (1971)

Cheshire Association League champions (1976, 1977)

Cheshire Association Aggregate winners (1977)*

Merseyside Competition Division One runners-up (1980)

Merseyside Competition Division Two champions (2000)

Millennium Cup winners (2000)

Merseyside and Southport Alliance champions (2003)

Kaufman Cup Winners (2002, 2003, 2006)

Lever Cup Winners (2003, 2004)

Merseyside and Southport Cricket Alliance 1st Division runners-up (2006)
Merseyside and Southport Cricket Alliance 1st Division champions (2008)

(achieved promotion to LDCC 1st Division)

LDCC 1st Division runners-up (2013)
(achieved promotion to LDCC Premier League)

LDCC Premier League 3rd place (2017)

Love Lane League Group D Winners (2020)
Echo T20 Cup finalists (2022)

2nd XI:

Merseyside Cricket Association League winners (1970)

Cheshire Association Aggregate winners (1977)*

Norman Cottam Cup winners (1995, 2003)

Merseyside and Southport Cricket Alliance Division Two Champions (2009)

LDCC 2nd Division runners-up (2012)


3rd XI:

LDCC 3rd XI Sunday 1st Division (North East) runners-up (2009)

LDCC 3rd XI Sunday 1st Division (North East) champions (2010)

LDCC 3rd XI Sunday 1st Division (South West) runners-up (2019)
LDCC 3rd XI Sunday 1st Division (North) runners-up (2022)

Recreational XI:


CALM charity match winners (2019)

LMS team:

Warrington and District champions (2020, 2021)

Women's Team:


LDCC Women's Softball Tournament Finalists (2020)

LDCC Women's Softball League runners-up (2021)


LDCC T20 Cup winners (2012)

Under 18s

LCJL Under 18 Green Group Winners (2021)


Merseyside Youth Divisional champions and Cup winners (2008)

Merseyside Youth League and Cup winners (2009)

Lancashire Cup winners (2009)

Echo Cup winners (2009)

LDCC U-15s League winners (2018, 2019)
Echo Cup finalists (2019)


Eric Tatlock Trophy winners (1993)

Merseyside Youth League and Cup winners (2007, 2009)

Lancashire Cup runners-up (2009)


LDCC U11s (South) League runners-up (2022)

LDCC U11s (North C) champions (2023)


Ainsdale CC U-9s Tournament runners-up (2021)

Ainsdale CC U-9s Plate runners-up (2021)

* The aggregate competition was entered jointly by RCC's 1st and 2nd teams

bottom of page