top of page

Rainhill march into second round

Rainhill into 2nd round of Mike Leddy Cup with 7-wicket win over Orrell

Orrell Red Triangle 89-7 (George Mushahwah 33, Logan Pallett 22*; Paul Millar 2-10)

Rainhill 90-3 (Panchu Xavier 29, Tony Wright 17; Arthur Moore 2-16)

Rainhill won by 7 wickets


Rainhill's 3rd team progressed to the second round of the Mike Leddy Cup following a 7 wicket victory at Orrell Red Triangle.

Rainhill won the toss and asked the home side to bat. The visitors took little time in making the breakthrough, with Stevie Pennington dismissing Ian Davies without scoring. Paul Millar then struck twice as he bowled Will Alker (1) and captain Mark Crumpton (2). Next out was Oliver Mahoney, run out for 11.

The visitors may have seemed in control at this point, but George Mushahwah and Logan Pallett were able to offer some resistance and Orrell rallied valiantly until Mushahwah was caught by Millar off the bowling of Vishwas Maheshwari for 33. Two further wickets fell as Alan Moore was run out by Steve Bell for 9 and Joe Whitely was bowled by Bell for 1. Pallett hit an unbeaten 22 as Orrell completed their 20 overs on 89 for 7.

Rainhill openers Tony Wright (pictured) and Panchu Xavier got out of the blocks quickly and dealt effectively with Orrell's attack. Both batsmen eventually fell to Arthur Moore, who took 2 for 16, but not before they had scored 17 and 29 respectively and set Rainhill on the path to victory. Ethan Powell was run out for 16, after which Vinny Varghese and Neil Robinson steered their team to the target with 3.1 overs remaining.

Rainhill will face Firwood Bootle in the next round.

bottom of page